Bored? Watch TED Talks.

Obviously, I’m that kind of girl who always watches TED Talks. I’m that kind of girl who stays up until 0.35 because I’m busy listening to aspiring speakers. In fact, I have 61 talks stored in my iPod Touch. I’m pretty hardcore.

Anyways, this blog post is my suggestion list on who you should really watch on TED. I hope you’ll be inspired and welcome in advance.

1. Jack Andraka
Jack Andraka is one of my absolute favorites. He is a teen who made a cancer detector that shows closely to 100% accuracy. He tells his story on how he had the idea to make the detector. His story never fails to amaze me.

WHY SHOULD YOU LISTEN TO HIM?
Because, who in the world can make a cancer detector in one’s teen years? That’s rare!

Talk: A promising test for pancreatic cancer … from a teenager

2. Sir Ken Robinson
He shows great humor. He explains how schools creativity. He also explains how we are disenthralled and enthralled to some things. Everything he says in his talks are pretty clever. He’s like the living Dumbledore. (But Dumbledore never tells jokes)

WHY SHOULD YOU LISTEN TO HIM?
He’s very humorous and he says a lot of clever things. You’ll never regret watching his talks. I swear. Thank me later.

Talks:
1. Bring on the learning revolution!
2. Changing education paradigms
3. How schools kill creativity
4. How to escape education’s death valley

3. Kevin Briggs
I just watched his TED Talk today and I am amazed. Really amazed. He talks about the bridge in San Francisco and in that bridge, there are a lot of people who commits suicide. He saves lives by letting people talk to him while the person [who wants to commit suicide] is at the edge of the bridge.

WHY SHOULD YOU LISTEN TO HIM?
He’s simply inspiring. That’s all I’ve got to say.

Talk: The bridge between suicide and life

4. Derek Paravicini and Adam Ockelford
Adam Ockelford is one of Derek’s mentors. Derek is blind but he’s a genius at piano. Adam tells his [Derek’s] story and I’m really amazed. Watch him play. You’ll never regret it.

WHY SHOULD YOU LISTEN TO THEM?
I’m not spoiling anything! (Except that Derek is blind). But I bet you, you’ll watch it over and over again.

Talk: In the key of genius

5. Christopher Emdin
His talk isn’t boring. He’s entertaining. In his talk, he talks about on what is the impact of learning. He also talks about how to engage audiences to listen to the speaker. Or in a school-ish version, he talks about on how to engage students to listen to their teacher.

WHY SHOULD YOU LISTEN TO HIM?
His talk isn’t cliché. I give him a rate of 100000000000/10

Talk: Teach teachers to create magic

Leave a Reply

