Understanding Depression

July 10, 2016
July 10, 2016

Depression (and every other mental illness) is still known as a stigma to the society, for the most part. It has often been ridiculed and marked as a “myth” because people don’t see it as a sickness/illness. What is often perceived when talking about illnesses, we know of cancer, pneumonia, fever, and the likes. It goes down to a really long list but frankly, mental illnesses isn’t “that considered”. With that, I am still very much upset with the things that people say about it [like “oh, you’re just under the weather” and “how can you even tell? It’s just a phase”.]

Depression, as defined by NHS is “more than simply feeling unhappy or fed up for a few days”. Sure, you may be disappointed or unhappy for a week or so but depression more than that. It’s the feeling for being sucked inside-out; your motivation and productivity literally running away from you; and feeling hopeless and wanting to end yourself. It sounds light if you read it here but it’s far from what you may think of. It’s beyond pain and numbness.

I don’t want to say that I know what this “really” feels like (because, yes, I know – I will be ridiculed). I don’t want people asking about this thing either. It seems really hard to talk about it but it has got to be one of the most important discussions you have to make especially when you have a friend or a relative who’s suffering from this. Please, out of all the stupid things you can say, do not tell them the notorious “It’s going to be okay” and “it’s just a phase”, because it just makes thing worse. Do everything that you can do in order to uplift them even at their darkest days.

This is what I found to be true: it is hard to be with people when you can’t even be one with yourself.

They have said that one of the best ways to be happy again is to let go of the things that hold you back; to let go of the things that make you feel bad. I completely respect and understand this decision. What I wish for her and for all of those who are suffering from mental illnesses is that you finally find your happy days. That would be such a great blessing – even if there are no words to be given to me.

What I would like to say is as someone who was a friend to a person who experienced this: it also hurts me the most to see you in this state. We are all hurting in some ways. This is not a competition of who has been hurt the most. I completely understand what you are feeling right now – even if you might reject this thought.

I just want you to know that even the world has turned upside-down or when people have been shutting you out (or vice versa), please do know that I still care.

Never have I ever stopped caring. I still think how you are coping up. I want to hear your stories or your thoughts even if it’s just composed of silence.

Your darkest days will be converted into your happiest sooner. I have my faith in you. Please never give up even if the world tells you to do so.

Leave a Reply

